Seek Wisdom

Get wisdom; get insight; do not forget, and do not turn away from the words of my mouth. Do not forsake her, and she will guard you. The beginning of wisdom is this: Get wisdom, and whatever you get, get insight.  –Proverbs 4:5-7

When it comes to the teaching occupation, there have been times when I have made up excuses of why I couldn’t get into our Father’s Word in the morning. At the beginning of the calendar year of 2013, I started to read through the Book, chronologically, in a year. I’m 3 months behind on the reading, but I’ve prayed about living on a checklist and that’s not going to happen with the power of God living through me. Other possible reasons that this timeline may have occurred include: studying the law of Leviticus deeper (studying the first covenant really opens your eyes to the covenant that Jesus brought with Him), reading a Proverb a day, and as of recent, memorizing 1 John with my wife. Not all of the reading or memorization has happened everyday, as these are things that I am working through right now with our Father. The one thing that I have held on to throughout this school and calendar year though is reading a Proverb everyday.

Proverb a day

When it comes to June 4th, I read Proverbs 4. When it comes to tomorrow (June 5th), I will dive into the 5th chapter of Proverbs. In the minimal time that I have made before school most of the days this year, it has been this chapter of Proverbs that has kept my striving to be more like our Father, to be more of who He made me to be. If we as children of God seek wisdom, get it, do not forsake it, and are protected by it, then we continue to live with the empowerment of God in us (1 John 4:4). Just yesterday, I was reminded where true, loving wisdom really comes from.

The LORD by wisdom founded the earth; by understanding, he established the heavens; by his knowledge, the deep broke open, and the clouds drop down the dew.  –Proverbs 3:19-20

How can we, the creation, doubt the wisdom of someone so great, so unspeakable, the CREATOR, in wisdom?

proverbs-17-12

Rick Warren tweeted once that “God’s tweets are called The Book of Proverbs.” For the newer generation, this may be a great way to look at them. I have been most challenged by Steve Farrar’s How to Ruin Your Life By 30 that I read a while back. The last chapter is entitled, “If you want to ruin your life by 30 then… REFUSE DAILY WISDOM.” In this chapter, Steve challenged me as a reader that if there was one thing that would help me from ruining my life by thirty, it was to “Read a chapter from the book of Proverbs every day” because “You brush your teeth every day. You take a shower every day. Read a chapter in Proverbs every day.”

In reading a Proverb every day, I have become much more aware and proactive in my seeking of wisdom and, ultimately, our Father. I thank God for the effectiveness this has had on my marriage because of the lust that has be rid of and very much not present in my mind or heart (Proverbs 5, 6 & 7). My wife has been thankful, too! I have been reminded of how lowly I am as a human (8:13-14, 11:2) but how much love and guidance our Father has for us (11:12, 17), if we are willing to take time (12:1), read His words, listen, and abide in them (1 John 2:23-25).  I have learned to be cautious when I wink (Proverbs 10:10), but seriously, keep an eye on that one (pun intended). The stories could go on of the numerous ways that a chapter, a specific Proverb, has let God convict me of who I have been, what I have done, and how I need to change. So as a brother and friend of yours, I urge you, no, I implore you to please read a chapter of Proverbs every day.

God can save any of us with just a word. Your present and future depends on it.

Listen to advice and accept instruction, that you may gain wisdom in the future. Many are the plans in the mind of a man, but it is the purpose of the LORD that will stand.  –Proverbs 19:20-21

Leave a Reply

