News of China Through American Eyes

The point of this blog from the beginning has been for people from outside of China to come more to an understanding of Chinese culture, people, history, etc. Since visiting family and friends in America this summer, I have been checking several news sites daily regarding China and various topics. There are numerous articles on the country from different perspectives on current events and situations. At times, I have become so enthralled by the headlines. Too often, I don’t stop and reflect on the stories through the eyes of the local Chinese (or Asians) around us.

the BBC China page pulled up at 4:39pm EST on August 12, 2015

What would the article sound like to them? Because of growing up in America, how has my past affected the way I interpret news about this foreign country? Have the locals heard some of these stories? I’d like to discuss this interesting article with a few taxi drivers. How can I come to understand these millions of people?

I never will. Completely. I mean, come on. Millions of people…literally. I don’t even understand the people I’m closest to in my life.

But that doesn’t mean I will stop trying.

Therefore, I have planned from now on for the next year to choose one news story a week to cite, expand upon it from my developing outlook, and hopefully reach a point of more understanding or better dialogue to go in that direction.

pensive coffee drinking

Look out for the first story to come out some time this weekend.

3 thoughts on “News of China Through American Eyes

  1. […] August 15th marks the 70th anniversary of the end of World War II. For decades around this date, Japanese prime ministers have offered declarations for what their government did to their neighbors back then. Over the course of the past few days, I have seen plenty of articles about Japan Prime Minister Shinzo Abe’s statement and how his words were received by a few countries, including America. Headlines seem to speak volumes about a country’s agenda and intentions. Or would it be the president’s? Here’s mine. […]

Leave a Reply

